Web Toolbar by Wibiya

Saturday, May 24, 2014

Marlon Wyans to host MTV Africa Music Awards

The 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards, which take place on 7 June at the Durban International Convention Centre, will be hosted by US actor, producer, stand-up comedian, writer and film director Marlon Wayans.

The awards are presented in partnership with KwaZulu-Natal Province, Absolut Vodka, the City of Durban and South Africa Tourism.

Wayans was discovered on the TV sketch comedy show In Living Color, along with Jim Carrey and Jamie Foxx. He also co-starred in the comedy sitcom The Wayans Brothers, a largely autobiographical show based on the brothers' real relationship and personalities.

As a stand-up comedian, Wayans continues to sell out in venues across the US and serves up urban comedy from established and emerging comedians, writers and actors through his website, WhatTheFunny.com.

Alex Okosi, SVP and MD of Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa commented, “Marlon Wayans is a hugely popular entertainment figure known and loved by African audiences from The Wayans Brothers and his various movie roles. His irreverent humour and infectious energy will definitely make him a great host for the 2014 MAMA.”

Celebrating musicians and achievers who have made the most impact on African youth culture throughout the year, MAMA 2014 will, for the first time, premiere live across Africa on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) and MTV (DStv Channel 130) at 21h00.

The 2014 MAMA will feature performances from African and international artists, including R&B superstar Miguel, hip hop game changer French Montana, Nigerian sensations Davido, Flavour and Tiwa Savage and South African hit makers Mafikizolo, Uhuru, Oskido and Professor.

Nominees from sub-Saharan Africa are represented in the nominations for this year’s music categories, including: 2Face, AKA, Amani, Amr Singh, Anselmo Ralph, Arielle T, Beatenberg, Big Nuz, Burna Boy, Chidinma, Clarence Peters, Danny K, Davido, Diamond, DJ Buckz, DJ Clock, DJ C'ndo, DJ Ganyani, DJ Kent, The Arrows, Donald, Don Jazzy, Dr Malinga, Dr Sid, Efya, Espoir 2000, Fally Ipupa, FB, Ferre Gola, Flavour, Fuse ODG, Gangs of Ballet, Goldfish, Heavy K, Ice Prince, JD, KCEE, Khuli Chana, Kyle Lewis, LCNVL, Lizha James, Mafikizolo, Matthew Mole, May D, Mi Casa, Michael Lowman, Nakhane Toure, Nelson Freitas, Olamide, Oskido, P Square, Professor, The Parlotones, Phyno, Radio and Weasel, R2bees, Sarkodie, Sauti Sol, Shortstraw, Stanley Enow, Tiwa Savage, Toofan, Uhuru, Wizkid, Youssoupha, Yuri Da Cunha and Zakes Bantwini.

In the newly introduced lifestyle award categories, Chimamanda Adiche, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, Trevor Noah, Lupita Nyong’o and Yaya Toure are nominated for Personality of the Year.

Public voting for the MAMA can be done via the MTV Base website until midnight on 4 June 2014. Voting for Song of the Year continues up until the show on 7 June however, the winners of the MTV Base Leadership Award and Best Video are chosen exclusively by MTV Base.

Tickets are on sale at Computicket.
Seated tickets cost R450,00 (incl. VAT) while general access (standing) tickets are R200,00 (incl. VAT).



Post a Comment

Your Thoughts?

back to top